Battery Carriage House Inn

 

By: Staff Editor, Charleston Harbor Tours
October 10, 2007

The Battery Carriage House was built in 1843 right on the sparkling waters of Charleston Harbor. Located within "The Battery" or "Battery Park", visitors to the carriage house can marvel in the peaceful park complete with the White Point Gardens and old Civil War cannons and cannonballs. Now an inn, the Battery Carriage House boasts unique and luxurious guest rooms, each designed to embody a particular period in Charleston history.

Samuel N. Stevens bought the property where the house stands in 1943 for $4,500. A wealthy commercial agent for plantation owners, he had the house built in a neoclassical style, an example of which can still be seen in a print in the house today. The house never belonged to a planter, although many believe otherwise.

In 1874, the house was sold to Andrew Simonds, the founder of the First national Bank of South Carolina. It is still owned by Simond's great great grandson, who restored the home and turned it into a hotel after the wreckage caused by Hurricane Hugo. Today it is a premiere bed and breakfast on the Charleston Harbor that offers top of the line service and privacy to its tenants.

The Battery Carriage House Inn is also known in Charleston to be one of the most haunted buildings in the city. First reports of ghosts came in 1992, prompting the legends of the gentleman ghost and the headless torso.

The gentleman ghost is believed to have been a worldly college student who jumped off the roof of the house and committed suicide. The headless torso, on the other hand, is believed to have been a soldier from the Civil War era, when the house was used as an artillery installation.

Reservations



Or purchase by phone, call

(843) 722-1112

Advance purchase strongly recommended.
Tours often sell out in advance.

Planning a Special Event?
Request a Quote